top of page


Nat. Brut’s (pr. nat broot) principal mission is to showcase the work of writers and artists who have been historically devalued or pigeonholed by art and literary institutions. We publish work that has been buried, ignored, and disappeared from public consciousness. Equally, we seek work that comes from artists’ buried, ignored, and disappeared impulses and practices—the risky, the exploratory, and the potentially ugly.

We bring together work that is serious and humorous, formal and experimental, by artists and writers who are trained and untrained, emerging and established. The work that we publish is intentionally representative of different identities, perspectives, and experiences. We believe in the power of presenting all of these voices in proximity.

Formerly a biannual magazine, we now release one online issue a year and hold free submissions during the spring. Once a year, we hold free submissions for our folios.

In 2021, Nat. Brut, which is 100% volunteer-run, began paying our contributors a small honorarium. We are excited to have taken the first steps toward a paid model.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • Tumblr Social Icon

Nat. Brut is a sponsored project of Fractured Atlas, a non-profit arts service organization. Donations must be made payable to Fractured Atlas only and are tax-deductible to the extent permitted by law.

For general inquiries, please reach us at

Nat. Brut is a proud winner of a 2020 Whiting Literary Magazine Prize.


Poetry Readers

Ayaz Muratoglu

Sara Ellen Fowler

Adrian T. Quintanar

Jackson Watson

Fiction Readers

Valeria Sosa Garnica

Christine Kim

Alexandria LeForce

Poetry Editor

Alana Solin

Nonfiction Editor

Meghan Lamb

Fiction Editor

Ariel Chu

Comics Editor

Tony Wei Ling

Managing Editors

Serena Solin

Tony Wei Ling

Emeritus Staff

Kayla E.

Diamond Forde

MB Nix

Ginevra Moscati

Alex Nolos

McCaela Prentice

Shariar Shaams

Martha Newbigging

Tara Jay

June Chadwick

Stephanie Sánchez

Ray Levy Uyeda

Yunkyo Moon-Kim


Naima Yael Tokunow

Jennifer Soong

Laura Bullard

Soli Shin

Lira Samanta

Ashira Shirali

Alina Fortunato

Pam Flores-Lowry

Kris Bernard

Egbiameje Omole

Eli Tomaszewski

Alina Fortunato

Board of Directors

President & Executive Director

Kayla E.

Secretary & Treasurer

Tyler Richard

Board Director

Koa Beck

Board Director

Julie Ann Horvath


Board Director

Anna Ploegh

bottom of page